Artist Spotlight: Ballet San Jose Dancer Kendall Teague

Ballet San Jose Dancer Kendall Teague

Ballet San Jose Dancer Kendall Teague

Welcome back to Ballet San Jose’s Artist Spotlight blog series, in which we will continue to introduce this season’s newest dancers to our online community! In our last installment, we talked to new corps member Alex Kramer. Today, we catch up with corps member and North Carolina native Kendall Teague. Read on to learn more about Kendall’s favorite dancing icon, his summer movie pick of 2012, and his history with Ballet San Jose.

 

Tell us about your dance background before coming to Ballet San Jose.

Well, right out of high school I actually came to Ballet San Jose for the second half of a season. I’m from North Carolina originally, trained in South Carolina, and I came here when I was eighteen. Then I spent two years in the San Francisco Ballet corps and spent a season with North Carolina Dance Theatre in Charlotte. After that, I spent a season with Complexions Ballet in New York, and now I’m back on the West Coast.

Do you prefer the East Coast or the West Coast?

I love the West Coast, but I always dream of the South.

What inspired you to become a dancer?

I’m not sure. I got into it because my sister was into it and I was just around. One day, her teacher said, “Come in here…” and it just happened from there. At first, I wanted to do more B-boy stuff, and I liked Gene Kelly a lot. Then I saw Baryshnikov and thought, “That’s awesome!”

Name one dancer who has inspired you in your career.

Definitely Gene Kelly!

Can you describe yourself in three words?

That’s a tough question! Easy, extroverted, animal.

What movies or events did you enjoy in 2012?

Beasts of the Southern Wild. It was such an amazing movie. Highly recommended.

What non-dancing hobbies or activities do you do in your time off?

I like to ride around on my skateboard and walk around downtown San Jose. I like exploring places.

Has San Jose changed a lot since the last time you were here?

A little bit. When I was here when I was eighteen, I didn’t take a lot of time to explore downtown, so it’s nice to get the chance to do that now. The company has changed a lot, too. There are a lot more dancers, for one thing!

What works in the new season are you most looking forward to?

Elo’s work. I’m also really looking forward to working on Stanton Welch’s piece. I’ve worked with him before — I learned some of his choreography when I was in San Francisco but never performed it. So I’m excited for that!

What is one thing you want to say to Ballet San Jose’s fans and supporters?

Keep being supporters!

 

On December 23, Ballet SJ finished a successful run of our all-new Nutcracker choreographed by longtime Ballet SJ principal dancer Karen Gabay. Now, we look ahead to our 2013 Season, which will start February 15 with the company premiere of Don Quixote. See Kendall and the rest of the company in this staging by Artistic Advisor Wes Chapman. Visit www.balletsj.org to subscribe to the season or purchase single tickets. You can also call our Box Office at (408) 288-2800 during regular business hours!

We hope to see you in February!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Artist Spotlight: Ballet San Jose Dancer Kendall Teague

  1. Chip and Nancy Miller says:

    Best wishes to you! We love your family.

Leave a Reply

